Parks on the Air

POTA: Hunting parks, states, and just having fun! 

As a new General I was excited to get on the HF bands. The question was, “Where do I start?”  The answer for me was POTA, Parks on the Air. I had heard about POTA, but really had no idea how involved you could become, the friendships you can make, and how easy it would be to get on the radio regularly, if only for 10 minutes. 

June 4, 2021, I sat down for a quick break and turned on the radio. As I scanned across the 20 m band there was a loud station calling CQ POTA. I quickly gathered myself and waited for him to finish. When I called back, he instantly replied. I was 59 at park K-3194. I thanked him for the 59 and said he was also 59, on the Olympic Peninsula in Western Washington. His reply, I am in Port Townsend at Fort Worden State Park, where are you located? Me, less than a mile away one the hill above you. We both had a good laugh, and I was hooked. He told me to search google for POTA and sign up, you will love it. Well, let us just say he was right. 

Signing up for POTA is quick, easy, and free. Their website (https://parksontheair.com/) is full of useful information about the program for both those who want to be Hunters and those who want to be Activators. Hunters are looking for Activators who are operating mobile at parks, in the mode of their choice, CW, PH or Data, and on band of choice. At this point I have only hunted but look forward to getting out and activating parks in the future. There are links where Activators can post their planned activities, and Hunters can spot Activators that they worked to alert others. Activators post their logs to the site after their activations for credit and thus credit Hunters who were in their log. Many awards are available which are delivered directly to your account as a pdf when earned. The POTA team really has things running smooth. 

Hunting parks has really helped my radio IQ increase. Like everything else, the more you do things the easier they become. I have become much better at adjusting filters on my radio for band conditions, understanding propagation, depending on time of day and band, listening to operators call CQ and learning to reply in a pile up.  

POTA is not a contest, although it is a terrific way to compete with yourself. I am working on my POTA WAS award, have worked 35 states, closing in on my 200 Unique parks award, currently at 164, and have had a total of 195 QSO’s, 155 SSB and 40 Data, on 7 different bands, 80, 40, 30, 17, 20, 15 and 10 meters.  I have also worked 3 DXCC entities and looking forward to more.  I am also looking forward to the next QSO with Rick, K5DGR, who I have had 14 QSO’s with across 4 states. You never know where you are going to fine a familiar call. 

I hope this will encourage you to check out Parks on the Air. Looking forward to hearing you all on the air soon. Who knows, one day the club, W7JCR may do a POTA activation? It could be a fun outing!  

73, N7TPR 

Rich 

One response to “Parks on the Air

  1. Carol Bruegge

    Thank you Rich. I would like to get started and will sign up with POTA, as you have recommended. What is your preferred antenna for this activity?

    Like

Leave a comment